Book now

Buy Tickets

Passion & Power

23 Mar 2024 19:30 - 21:30

KAPRÁLOVÁ Military Sinfonietta
DVOŘÁK Cello Concerto
BRAHMS Symphony No. 1 in C minor, Op. 68

Acclaimed British cellist Richard Jenkinson is the soloist in Dvořák’s passionate Cello Concerto, one of the best-loved works in the orchestral repertoire.

This thrilling programme opens with Vítězslava Kaprálová's best known work Military Sinfonietta, which she premiered in 1937 in Prague, becoming the first woman to conduct the Czech Philharmonic Orchestra.

Following will feature a piece by a more familiar Czech composer, Antonín Dvořák. The Orchestra are delighted to accompany acclaimed cellist, Richard Jenkinson who will play Dvořák’s sumptuous and virtuosic cello concerto.

After the interval the Orchestra will present Brahms' Symphony No. 1 in C minor. Brahms’ First Symphony, from sketches to finishing touches, took him 21 years to complete. It begins with the pounding of a broken heart, and ends in a blaze of triumph guaranteed to get your pulse racing!