Book Now

Buy Tickets

Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

03 Jun 2023 19:00 - 21:15

The Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra makes a long-awaited return to Sheffield City Hall, here with conductor Jonathan Bloxham who has been described by Paavo Järvi as having “a natural rapport with orchestras”.

Jonathan opens the concert with Vaughan Williams’s musical interpretation of the biblical story of the beggar and the rich man, a work filled with opulent string sounds, sweeping melodies and rich harmonies.

Jonian Ilias Kadesha, a violinist of Albanian and Greek heritage whose playing is characterised by stylistic accuracy, steals the limelight in Mozart’s fifth, and final, violin concerto, nicknamed ‘Turkish’ because of a section in the final movement.

One of Beethoven’s most popular works, his Seventh Symphony, was written after a restorative stay at a Bohemian spa town: it begins in sombre mood but works its way with intense rhythmic energy through to the final movement’s ecstatic elation.


Jonathan Bloxham (Conductor) and Jonian Ilias Kadesha (Violin)


  • VAUGHAN WILLIAMS: Five Variants of Dives and Lazarus (11)
  • MOZART: Violin Concerto No.5, ‘Turkish’ (31)
  • BEETHOVEN: Symphony No.7 (36)


£22.50 - £30.50 / Tickets for children (16 years and under)/Students/Groups of 10+ £9.00