Book now

Buy Tickets

Spring Masterworks Concert

02 Mar 2024 19:30 - 21:30

At the heart of the programme is Mozart’s world famous 4th Horn Concerto with soloist Naomi Atherton, who is the Principal Horn of both the Northern Chamber Orchestra and Manchester Camerata, as well as a member of Ensemble 360. She will also charm us with Glazunov’s Idyll for Horn and strings.

Originally composed for Horn and Piano in 1926 in the rather unusual key of F# Major this beautiful lyrical piece is rarely performed so don’t miss this once in a lifetime chance to hear it.

The evening starts with the “Ritual Fire Dance” from De Falla’s ballet ‘El Amor Brujo’. As you might imagine it’s full of the passion and energy of Andalusian Spain.

The evening concludes in a very different country and style, with Mendelssohn’s Scottish Symphony which was initially inspired by the ruins of Holyrood chapel and his subsequent visit to the western isles. It was however only after his death that this became known -- but for most audiences the music evokes the wild Romantic landscapes of the north so the name has stuck. What do you think?

This programme of music is conducted by Laurence Perkins, who joins us again following his extremely successful debut in this role with the orchestra in last year’s masterworks concert.


£12 and £6 (student and unwaged)