Book Now

Buy Tickets

Ukraine National Symphony Orchestra

02 Nov 2023 18:30

The National Symphony Orchestra of Ukraine UK Tour Autumn 2023 – the biggest UK tour in its 100-year history featuring Ukrainian composer Lyatoshynsky, Strauss, Sibelius and more.

Sheffield City Hall are delighted to be one of 17 major UK concert venues welcoming the National Symphony of Ukraine for the first time in over 20 years.

The concert opens with a marvellously atmospheric symphonic picture, Grazhyna, by Boris Lyatoshynsky, known as the father of 20th century Ukrainian Music.

Ukrainan born violinist, Oleksii Semenenko, then performs one of the most popular concertos in the repertoire, Bruch's dazzling First Violin Concerto.

Richard Strauss's tone poem about the fictional libertine Don Juan follows before the concert rounds off with Liszt's vibrant and ultimately victorious symphonic poem, Mazeppa.

Come along to show solidarity with the people of Ukraine during this conflict and support the continuation of their rich musical culture.



£29.95, £35.95 & £40.95 (Student / Under 18s £18.00)

Additional Information

Please note - this concert begins at 7.30pm

Pre-Concert Talk 6.30pm

Volodymyr Sirenko, conductor

Oleksii Semenenko, violin

BORIS LYATOSHYNSKY Grazhyna, Symphonic Picture (19)'

BRUCH Violin Concerto No.1 (24)


R STRAUSS Don Juan (17)

LISZT Mazeppa (17)

Marcus Newton, the guide for Sheffield City Walking, standing in Tudor Square on a bright, sunny day.