Book now

Buy Tickets

Flanders Symphony Orchestra with Sheffield Philharmonic Chorus

22 Jun 2024 19:00

Sheffield International Concert Season 2023/24

Pre-Concert Talk 6pm

Kristiina Poska conductor
Yena Choi soprano
Kadi Jürgens mezzo
Denzil Delaere tenor
Christian Immler bass-baritone

Mozart Don Giovanni: Overture 7’
Beethoven Symphony No.8 28’
Mozart Requiem 48’

The final concert of the season features a much-anticipated appearance of the Flanders Symphony Orchestra with their award-winning Music Director, Kristiina Poska.

Renowned for her choral conducting, she will direct a star-studded cast of soloists along with the combined forces of the Flanders Symphony Orchestra and Sheffield Philharmonic Chorus in a performance of Mozart’s Requiem. Including the mournful “Lacrimosa”, it is considered by many to be the composer’s greatest masterpiece.

Mozart’s Overture to Don Giovanni, famously written in just three hours the night before the outrageous comedy opera’s premiere, opens the concert, followed by Beethoven’s Eighth Symphony. Fondly referred to by the composer himself as “my little Symphony in F”, it is notable for its dramatic shifts in dynamics, feverish cross-rhythms and heavenly, almost hymn-like, episodes. This is a season finale not to be missed.


£22.50, £29.95 & £31.95 (includes fees)