Book now

Buy Tickets

BBC Philharmonic

24 Jan 2025 19:00

BBC Philharmonic
John Storgårds conductor
Paul Lewis piano

BEETHOVEN Piano Concerto No.5, “Emperor” (38’)
SHOSTAKOVICH Symphony No.5 (51’)

A regular guest to the series, the BBC Philharmonic returns with its Chief Conductor, John Storgårds, for a concert of works by two composers who were giants in their own rights.

Beethoven’s majestic “Emperor” Concerto, one of the greatest piano concertos of all time, will be performed by the extraordinarily talented pianist, Paul Lewis, whose cycles of core piano works by Beethoven have received unanimous worldwide critical and public acclaim.

After the interval, prepare to be moved by the profound intensity of Shostakovich’s mighty Fifth Symphony. Resonating with the resilience of the human spirit, this promises to be anunforgettable journey through the peaks and valleys of human emotion, expressed through the timeless language of music.


£22.95, £30.50 & £32.50 (includes fees)

Additional Information

Part of the Sheffield International Concert Season 2024/25.