Book now

Buy Tickets

Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment

07 Feb 2025 19:00

S. BACH Suite No.3, BWV 1068: I. Overture (7’)
S. BACH Sheep May Safely Graze (5’)

CHARPENTIER Te Deum: Prelude (3’)
S. BACH Suite No.3, BWV 1068: II. Air (5’)
S. BACH Wedding Cantata, BWV 202: Aria - Gavotte (3’)
PURCELL King Arthur: Chaconne (4’)


S. BACH Flute Concerto, BWV 971 (Italian Concerto): I. Allegro (4’)
HANDEL Messiah: Rejoice (5’)
S. BACH Concerto for Two Violins, BWV 1043 (17’)
PURCELL Abdelazer: Suite - Rondeau (2’)
S. BACH Suite No.3, BWV 1068: III. Gavotte 1 & 2 (4’)
VIVALDI Motet, “Nulla in mundo pax sincera” (4’)
S. BACH Suite No.3, BWV 1068: IV. Bourrée & V. Gigue (4’)

A baroque-tastic evening celebrating even more of the 18th century’s greatest hits, exploring why the masterpieces of the time became so popular and why these tunes are still everywhere today.

Named after the 18th century explosion of science, philosophy and music in Western Europe, the link between the Age of Enlightenment and the Orchestra is its never-ending spirit of enquiry.

In this lively programme of baroque favourites, expect intriguing performances and earworms in this fun and informative introduction to these classics. Presented from the stage, the musicians of the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment will guide you through why they love this music.


£22.95, £30.50 & £32.50 (includes fees)

Additional Information

Part of the Sheffield International Concert Season 2024/25.