Book now

Buy Tickets

Royal Northern Sinfonia

23 Oct 2024 19:00

Royal Northern Sinfonia
Dinis Sousa conductor
Alexandra Dariescu piano

MENDELSSOHN A Midsummer Night’s Dream: Overture; Nocturne; Scherzo (23’)
CLARA SCHUMANN Piano Concerto (21’)
MOZART Symphony No.41, “Jupiter” (31’)

Experience an enchanting evening with the Royal Northern Sinfonia and its Principal Conductor, Dinis Sousa. They are joined by the trailblazing pianist, Alexandra Dariescu, an artist who champions inclusion and diversity, promoting works by female composers. She breathes life into Clara Schumann’s Piano Concerto, a work completed and performed when the composer was just a teenager.

Journey through a selection of whimsical incidental music from Mendelssohn’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream, written to accompany performances of Shakespeare’s comedic play. The concert concludes with Mozart’s final symphony. Known for its humour and energy, be prepared to be swept away by the grandeur of his celestial “Jupiter” Symphony.


£22.95, £30.50 & £32.50 (includes fees)

Additional Information

Part of the Sheffield International Concert Season 2024/25.