Book now

Buy Tickets

The Hallé

03 May 2025 19:00

The Hallé

Marta Gardolińska conductor
Alena Baeva violin

COPLAND Appalachian Spring: Suite (full orchestra) (23’)
BARBER Violin Concerto (25’)
DVOŘÁK Symphony No.9, “From the New World” (40’)

Marta Gardolińska, Music Director of the Opéra national de Lorraine, conducts this programme of conflict and resolution.

With its beautifully broad ranges of tonal colour, tinged with the trials of the American Civil War, it is easy to see why Copland’s score for Appalachian Spring earned him a Pulitzer Prize.

Following this work, Alena Baeva will step onto the platform to perform Barber’s Violin Concerto, a piece which similarly vacillates between contentment and conflict.

The “New World” Symphony was one of the triumphs of Dvořák’s musical career, and it has been adored by audiences ever since.

Aptly, it accompanied Neil Armstrong on his first trip to the moon, and in a rather more down-to-earth context, the symphony’s second movement was used in the 1973 Ridley Scott-directed “Hovis” advert.


£22.95, £30.50 & £32.50 (includes fees)

Additional Information

Part of the Sheffield International Concert Season 2024/25.